NOTICE: Have Something Interesting/Informative you want us to Post? Send to Are you a good content writer and wish to write for us or play any role to this blog? email us @ for your standard adverts at ((JELLOF EMPIRE ACCT NO:0113940896 ,UNION BANK))

News | Entertainment | Events | Jellof Gist and More


Click Here To Join NG Adverts

Wednesday, 6 September 2017

List of top Nigeria politicians under probe for corruption by EFCC.

- List of some high-profile cases involving over 100 politically-exposed persons have been sighted
 - The list include names of Walter Onnoghen, Ayodele Fayose, Dr Kayode Fayemi, Yahaya Bello 
- 106 cases were under investigation while several others pending in court
 - The EFCC however said it is not investigating Justices Onnoghen and Kafarati As of August 2017, the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) is still investigating some high-profile cases involving over 100 politically-exposed persons and top-ranking public officers, 
In a report by Punch, a list containing names of cases being investigated by the anti graft agency was recently sent to the Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Mr. Abubakar Malami (SAN). 

In the list, 106 cases were under investigation while several others pending in court. The list however, did not disclose details of the cases under investigation. 

Sources of information for the cases were said to have been listed against each case and they include intelligence, whistle-blowers and petitions from government agencies and private citizens. 

Here are names of some prominent persons on the list:

1. Walter Onnoghen: Chief Justice of Nigeria 
2. Governor Ayodele Fayose of Ekiti state;. 
3. Dr Kayode Fayemi, former governor of Ekiti and current minister of Solid Minerals          Development. 
4. Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala immediate past Minister of Finance. 
5. Governor of Kogi State, Yahaya Bello.
 6. Former Kogi state governor, Captain Idris Wada.
 7. Former governor Godswill Akpabio of Akwa Ibom State, who is currently the Senate’s Minority Leader 
8. Jonah Jang of Plateau state, currently serving as Senator representing Plateau North.
 9. Former governor Ali Modu Sherriff of Borno state. 
10. Chief Lucky Igbinedion, former governor of Edo state. 
11. Dame Patience Jonathan, the wife of former President Goodluck Jonathan. 
12. immediate past minister of Petroleum Resources, Mrs. Diezani Alison-Madueke. 
13. The immediate past Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Mr. Mohammed Adoke (SAN).
 14. A former minister of the Federal Capital Territory, Bala Mohammed. 
15. Former minister of Aviation, Mrs. Stella Oduah, who is currently the Senator representing Anambra North. 
16. A former minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Godsday Orubebe. 

17. Reaf Admiral Alison Madueke (retd.), Alison-Madueke’s husband. 
18. Dr. Reuben Abati, ex-special adviser to the President Jonathan on Media and Publicity. 19. Dr. Doyin Okupe, a former senior special assistant to Jonathan on Public Affairs. 
20. Abdullahi Dikko, former comptroller-general of the Nigeria Customs Service.
 21. Col. Bello Fadile (retd.), served under the immediate past National Security Adviser, Sambo Dasuki
 22. Uche Secondus, a former acting Chairman of the PDP.
 23. Justice Abdu Kafarati, the incoming Chief Judge of the Federal High Court. 
24. Justice Mohammed Tsamiya, who was recently retired compulsorily by the National Judicial Council. 
However, the EFCC said the report did not emanate from them. In its reaction, the EFCC said that: "It is important to state that this report did not emanate from the EFCC and the allusion to “an EFCC source” is diversionary and mischievous. "For the avoidance of doubt, cases under investigation communicated to the Office of the attorney general of the Federation by the Commission are classified information and it is troubling how such would be leaked to the media. 

"The mastermind of this leak is out to create disaffection between the Commission and, particularly, the Judiciary. The Commission wishes to state categorically that it is currently not investigating Justices Onnoghen and Kafarati. "While Onnoghen was being considered for his present position, the Commission received some petitions which were investigated and found to be without merit and discarded. "Indeed, much damage has been done to the Commission’s investigation activities by this leak especially as some of the cases mentioned are still at preliminary stages of investigation. 

No comments:

Post a Comment